Project updates, commentaries, events and news about health across the nation from the County Health Rankings & Roadmaps team.

2017 RWJF Culture of Health Prize finalists announced

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Today the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation announced the 11 communities selected as finalists for the fifth annual RWJF Culture of Health Prize. The Prize honors and elevates communities that understand health is a shared value and everyone has a role to play in driving change. Selected from nearly 200 applicants, the following finalist communities are one step closer to the coveted national prize:

Algoma, WI

Allen County, KS

Bernalillo County, NM

Chelsea, MA

Garrett County, MD

Ingham County, MI

Nogales, AZ    

Richmond, VA

San Pablo, CA

Seneca Nation of Indians (NY)

Vicksburg, MS  


An annual competition that awards $25,000 to communities making great strides in their journey to better health, Prize communities also have the opportunity to share their story and lessons learned with the country and join a national network of past winning communities.

To earn Prize finalist status, communities had to demonstrate how they excelled in six criteria:

  • Defining health in the broadest possible terms.
  • Committing to sustainable systems changes and policy-oriented long-term solutions.
  • Cultivating a shared and deeply-held belief in the importance of equal opportunity for health.
  • Harnessing the collective power of leaders, partners, and community members.
  • Securing and making the most of available resources.
  • Measuring and sharing progress and results.

The 2017 RWJF Culture of Health Prize winners will be announced this fall. Click here to learn more about the 27 previous Prize winners.

Visit What Works for Health to see strategies that can help your community take action to improve health.