County Health Rankings & Roadmaps, A Healthier Nation, County by County

Download Rankings Data

Get data for the entire nation or a state

Learn about the data & methods

Our Approach

Our model of population health

Ranking Methods

How Rankings are calculated

Using the Rankings Data

How to understand and go beyond the Rankings

Measuring Progress

Guide to understanding the health trends in your community

What can I do?

Action Center

Guides and tools for improving health

What Works for Health

Find effective policy/program strategies

What can I learn from others?

Community Grants

Local action to change policies or systems

National Partners

Learn about our partners in improving health


How communities are improving health

Projects Showcase

Examples of ways people are using the Rankings data

RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Learn about communities making a difference and how to apply

RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Honoring the efforts and accomplishments of U.S. communities working at the forefront of health improvement

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Culture of Health Prize is awarded annually to honor outstanding community efforts and partnerships that are helping people live healthier lives. Winning communities each receive a $25,000 cash prize and have their success stories celebrated and shared broadly with the goal of raising awareness and inspiring locally-driven change across the country.


The 2014-15 RWJF Culture of Health Prize Call for Applications will be released in June 2014.

2013-14 Competition Update – Finalists Announced!

On September 26, 2013, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation announced the twelve communities that have been chosen as finalists for the second annual RWJF Culture of Health Prize. These finalists are one big step closer to the RWJF Culture of Health Prize, which honors communities that are transforming health by bringing together a broad range of partners to improve health outcomes for residents. The twelve prize finalist communities are:

  • Bexar County, Texas
  • Brownsville, Texas
  • Buncombe County, North Carolina
  • Canton, Ohio
  • Durham County, North Carolina
  • East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana
  • Franklin County, Maine
  • Sitka, Alaska
  • Spokane County, Washington
  • Taos Pueblo Tribal Community, New Mexico
  • Van Buren County, Iowa
  • Williamson, West Virginia 

This fall, finalist communities provided first-hand introductions to their accomplishments through brief site visits.

Up to six winning communities will be announced in June 2014 and the Call for Applications for the next round of the competition will be released at that time. 

Meet the Six Inaugural Winners

In February 2013, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation presented the first RWJF Culture of Health Prize to six communities.  Learn about these winning communities and their accomplishments through our online multimedia RWJF Culture of Health Prize Winners Gallery.

Explore the winning communities:



For more information on the RWJF Culture of Health Prize, please contact:
Kirstin Siemering, Manager, RWJF Culture of Health Prize