Project updates, commentaries, events and news about health across the nation from the County Health Rankings & Roadmaps team.

Four Trailblazing Communities Awarded the RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Today, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation celebrates four communities from across the country who are rallying around a shared commitment to health, opportunity, and equity. Selected from nearly 200 applicants, the winners of the 2018 Culture of Health Prize are: Cicero, Illinois; Eatonville, Florida; Klamath County, Oregon; and San Antonio, Texas.

These four winners join a growing network of 39 trailblazing communities who are pursuing proven strategies and innovative ideas, leveraging their unique strengths, and bringing partners together to ensure better health flourishes for everyone. From expanding early childhood education in Cicero, Illinois to encouraging residents to drive solutions in Eatonville, Florida, these communities understand that collaboration is critical for achieving long-lasting change. Whether it’s strengthening the job skills of local residents, like in Klamath County, Oregon, or embracing a data-driven approach, like in San Antonio, Texas, Prize winners are building healthier communities from the ground up. 

  Cicero, Illinois

  Eatonville, Florida 

  Klamath County, Oregon 

  San Antonio, Texas 

For more than five years, the RWJF Culture of Health Prize has helped elevate communities that are making great strides in their journey toward better health. Is your community making a commitment to health, opportunity, and equity? Share your story and apply for the 2019 Culture of Health Prize by November 1, 2018 at 3pm ET. Find more information at

Watch the recording of our informational webinar from September 25, 2018 at 3pm ET to learn more about the application process.